Governance - Musicological Society of Australia


In accordance with the Society's Constitution the MSA is governed by a National Committee whose members were elected during the Society's Annual General Meetings. It comprises an Executive, which is responsible for the ongoing operation of the Society, as well as general committee members and ex-officio members who advise the Executive and vote on matters of importance. All positions are honorary.

The current committee members and office holders are listed on the Contact page

National Committee


Executive (2 year first term, may nominate for a second two-year term. President and Membership Secretary are elected in a different year to the Secretary and Treasurer)

  • President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Membership Secretary

2 General Members (1 year term)

(including 1 student member)

Ex-officio members

  • Elected Chapter Presidents
  • Immediate Past President
  • New Zealand Musicological Society (NZMS) President
  • Australian or New Zealand elected member of the International Musicological Society (IMS) Directorate
  • Australian or New Zealand elected member of the Executive Board of the International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM)

The National Committee appoints MSA members to the honorary positions of:

  • Journal Editor (Musicology Australia)
  • Public Officer
  • Awards Committee Chair
  • Newsletter Editor
  • Thesis Register Editor