About the MSA

The Musicological Society of Australia was founded in 1963 at the University of Sydney and achieved full national status in 1976. Its five regional chapters (South Australia, Sydney, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia) provide local activities, research networks, and support groups for members. For details about local chapter activities please contact the relevant chapter presidents (listed below).

The MSA also attracts a significant international membership from individuals and institutions. It is affiliated with the International Musicological Society (IMS), International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM) and the New Zealand Musicological Society (NZMS).

MSA Position Statement

The MSA embraces and promotes music musicology in the broadest terms including historical, ethnographic, analytical, cultural, behavioural and performance research.

The key activities of the MSA include:

  • Presenting an annual conference, which is regularly held in conjunction with the New Zealand Musicological Society;
  • Producing the internationally peer-reviewed journal Musicology Australia, published by Taylor & Francis;
  • Mentoring postgraduate students and emerging scholars; and,
  • Advancing academic and public understanding and appreciation of music, an activity and resource that is fundamental to the wellbeing of individuals and communities.


In accordance with the Society’s Constitution the MSA is governed by a National Committee whose members were elected during the Society‚Äôs Annual General Meetings. It comprises an Executive, which is responsible for the ongoing operation of the Society, as well as general committee members and ex-officio members who advise the Executive and vote on matters of importance. All positions are honorary.

National Committee


  • President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Membership Secretary

2 General Members

Ex-officio members

  • Elected Chapter Presidents
  • Immediate Past President
  • New Zealand Musicological Society (NZMS) President
  • Australian or New Zealand elected member of the International Musicological Society (IMS) Directorate
  • Australian or New Zealand elected member of the Executive Board of the International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM)

Current office holders

PresidentSarah Collins
SecretaryKathryn Roberts Parker
Membership SecretarySarah Kirby
TreasurerErin Matthews
Student Member Rabiya Plush-Noad
General MemberMichael Hooper
State Chapter Presidents
Tasmanian Chapter President (ex officio)Anne-Marie Forbes
South Australia Chapter President (ex officio)Steven Knopoff
Sydney Chapter President (ex officio)Kathryn Roberts Parker
Western Australia Chapter President (ex officio)Gemma Turvey
Victorian Chapter President (ex officio)Maurice Windleburn
Queensland Chapter President (ex officio)(TBC)
Past MSA President (ex officio)Michael Hooper
IMS Delegate (ex officio)John Griffiths
NZMS President (ex officio)Nancy November
Public OfficerJaki Kane
Access and Equity OfficerAnthea Skinner
Awards Committee ChairJohn A Phillips
Media and Communications OfficerNicholas Freer


The MSA is affiliated with the following organisations:

Grants, Bursaries & Prizes

The MSA administers an annual pool of funding for various purposes: